Newman earns lifetime achievement, Fellow recognition from national organizations

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Recognizing his work in fatigue and fracture research, two national organizations honor a Bagley College of Engineering professor’s nearly 50-year career. James C. Newman Jr., the Richard H. Johnson chair of aerospace engineering, received the Fatigue Damage of Structural Materials Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2012 International Conference on Fatigue Damage of…

January 23, 2013

Four Bagley faculty members selected for national symposium

STARKVILLE, Miss—Four Bagley College of Engineering faculty members are among a small group of educators selected for a national engineering symposium. Islam El-adaway, Bryan Jones, Lesley Strawderman and Rani Sullivan attended the National Academy of Engineering’s fourth Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium held last month in Irvine, Calif. The two and a half day event…

November 1, 2012

Mississippi State names new director for flight laboratory

STARKVILLE, Miss. – An aerospace engineer with extensive experience in aircraft design is the new director of the Raspet Flight Research Laboratory at Mississippi State University. Ratneshwar “Ratan” Jha officially joins the university July 1, at which time he will take on the director’s role and a faculty position within the department of aerospace engineering….

July 2, 2012

BCoE hosts successful conference, earns multiple honors

Starkville, Miss.— The Bagley College of Engineering (BCoE) recently hosted more than 170 engineering educators from across the Southeastern United States. Representing more than 40 institutions of higher learning, they gathered on Mississippi State’s campus for the annual conference of the American Society for Engineering Education’s (ASEE) Southeastern Section. The three-day event focused on the…

April 12, 2012

Veteran educator to head MSU aerospace department

STARKVILLE, Miss. – A professor with more than 20 years of experience as an educator will become the Bagley College of Engineering’s Bill and Carolyn Cobb chair and head of the department of aerospace engineering. Pasquale “PC” Cinnella formally assumed his new role July 1 after serving as the interim leader for two years. He…

July 5, 2011

College toasts successful year at annual picnic

Starkville, Miss. — School’s out and the Bagley College of Engineering’s faculty and staff are celebrating the end another successful academic year. On a sunny Wednesday afternoon, the college’s faculty and staff turned out on MSU’s historic Drill Field to enjoy barbecue, fried catfish and all of the trimmings while Dean Sarah Rajala provided an…

May 11, 2011

BCoE academy names new ‘distinguished’ members

Starkville, Miss. — Four Bagley College of Engineering (BCoE) faculty members have become the newest members of the college’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers. John Brocato, Dave Dampier, Lesley Strawderman, and Rani Sullivan were inducted into the academy during an April ceremony. This year’s honorees were chosen based on nomination letters from Mississippi State administrators, faculty…

April 25, 2011

BCoE names new academy members

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Called innovative, caring, passionate, and determined, four Bagley College of Engineering (BCoE) faculty members have earned a place in the college’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers. David Bridges, Yogi Dandass, David Thompson, and Keisha Walters were inducted into the academy at a March 30 ceremony. This year’s recipients were nominated by BCoE faculty,…

March 31, 2010